April 24, 2015
In a new variation of increasing the minimum wage, the Connecticut State Senate Labor Committee this week passed a bill that will charge for-profit companies with 500 or more employees a fee of $1 per hour for each worker paid an hourly wage of $15 or less. Responding to complaints from committee Republicans that the law would reinforce Connecticut's anti-business reputation, Committee Co-Chairman Ed Gomes responded: "We get this thing about we're being business unfriendly. I think it's time to be employee friendly." Republicans also complained about the money going to the state—generating about $300 million in annual revenue—with the employees "getting nothing out of this."